The Seven Dhatus (Tissues)
in Ayurvedic Medicine


The Seven Dhatus are the seven tissues of the body. In English they are plasma, blood, muscle, fat, bone, marrow / nerve, and reproductive tissue. In Sanskrit, they are rasa, rakta, mamsa, medas, asthi, majja, and shukra respectively. These are the structures that make up the body. However, like most concepts in vedic literature, they are much more than their one-dimensional definitions. They are integral to understanding the relationships of the tissues in the body, and they are sites that doshas enter when they cause disease. An understanding of the seven dhatus is important to understanding pathology; what goes wrong in the body. When a dosha enters a dhatu, a proper understanding of the dhatu helps the practitioner predict the symptoms that will manifest and provides clues to the best treatment.